AGM type 96

Donated by Evike.comThis is the AGM Type 96 rifle I received from Evike.com for our first contest! At first, I was skeptical, because it list’s on their store for only about $80. That’s stock, without a scope and bipod. I went and bought a BSA 3-9x30mm scope to mount on top, and a Rock Mount bipod, which is a Harris imitation.

What also came in the package were:

  • instructions (mostly pictures, but has English!)
  • a un-jamming/cleaning rod (not just a stick, but has an eyelet at one end)
  • a magazine (about 25 rounds)
  • a speedloader
  • a “sling” (throw it away or modify it)
  • allen wrenches (only the two you need to put it together and adjust the cheekpiece)
  • BB’s of unknown origin
  • packet of silica to manage moisture, be sure not to eat it…

Bipod and Scope

When attaching the bipod, I noticed that the stud protrudes a bit far from the stock. You’ll need to add in some spacers to make it “rock” solid. When I bought the BSA scope, the rings were too small to mount to the rail, so I bought some cheap $10 ones. They didn’t clamp down enough to grip the mount without wiggle room and I haven’t yet discovered if it’s the rifles fault or the crappy rings I splurged on.

Another fabulous issue with my rings was they were low mount. I happen to like low mount rings. However, to get a full sight picture in the scope, I had to remove the cheekpiece. I couldn’t get low enough. The included rings on the package deal appear to be see through, or hi-rise, mounts. It sure looks stupid, but it’ll be better than the crap I had to put up with.

If you buy the rifle, get the full kit to avoid the same problems. All told, it cost me about $110 to make the rifle functional enough to test…well, $60 for the scope and rings…the bipod was something I needed anyway. The whole kit from Evike only runs about $130.

Accuracy and Hop-up

Sighting in for 100 feet

I sighted in at exactly one hundred feet (thirty yards) from the muzzle to the target. Shown in the picture is the rifle setup, Eagle Industries HSRC, a Bushnell Laser Rangefinder, test BB’s, and a notebook for gathering data. Down at the end of “lane” you see a large flat screen TV box donated by my roommate, John Kettelhut.

After testing the free BB’s included in the box, I scientifically determined that they completely suck. They must have been .12 grams (or lighter) because even with the hop-up on it’s lowest setting, the BB’s still were hitting the wall above the skate ramps. They were going fast though, I never once saw one in flight, naked eye or with the scope.

The hop-up adjustment is between the barrel and stock on the left of the rifle as you are sighting in. While this considerably easier to adjust on the fly than my Well Warrior I, I think this location makes it prone to getting easily bumped. That’s nothing a piece of tape over it wouldn’t fix.

I promptly loaded up the Perfect .3 grams that I have from my own personal stock. With the hop-up off, the BB’s struck the floor, with the hop-up all the way up, they rocketed to the ceiling. Right in the center, the BB’s flew straight and true, I didn’t even have to zero the scope at all. Once I determined the rifle was hitting point of aim, point of impact, I shot this five shot group.

Five shot group at one hundred feet.

That shiny white card is my drivers license provided for size reference. The five shot group could be called “fair” at ten inches at 100 feet. That’s enough for a head shot on an unmoving target. However, keep in mind that many official fields and games seem to put sniper engagement distances at MINIMUM one hundred feet. I wouldn’t trust this rifle much farther.

Replica Compatibility

The good news is that Evike says it’s fully upgradeable with Tokyo Marui G-spec parts. It seems true enough. My best estimate is that this rifle is a Tokyo Marui G-spec receiver and barrel, with a L96 style stock.

If you’re curious what this gun replicates, it would be most similar to a Remington 700 mounted into an Accuracy International Chassis System. That’s a little bit of a stretch, but it’s as close as it’s going to get, that is, until someone creates a real steel bolt handle like the G-spec. I wouldn’t count on it though, because it sucks. I grade it an A+ for style, but an F for sniper ergonomics.

Aside from the issues I have with the bolt handle, it’s a flippin’ sweet rifle for the price. I’m sure the high end rifles blow it out of the water (they had better!) but I’ve never used one. The quality of the materials and build smoke my Well Warrior I and I believe the accuracy is better, although I haven’t had the chance to group mine in the same manner.

Magazine and Function

I did experience one minor snafu. After having fired for a bit, I loaded in a full magazine and fired off a couple rounds without hitch. Somewhere in the early part of the magazine, I attempted to fire, but the trigger wouldn’t travel. I checked the safety, it was off. I thought maybe I hadn’t thrown the bolt completely, but it offered no resistance. At this point I thought, “Crap! I cycled two BB’s into the chamber…dang.” I tried to fire again, but nothing happened, again. After repeating the above, I was in disbelief and thought I had somehow sheared the cog or cylinder or whatever. By no means am I an airsoft-smith.

BB\'s lodged up side the barrel and blocked the cylinder.I observed this in the chamber after removing the magazine. Apparently, the magazine decided to squirt it’s entire payload into the loading area when I cycled the cylinder. It’s hard to tell from the photo, but it actually jammed up the whole gun. To remedy the situation, I held the bolt to the rear and shook all the BB’s out (about 15). When I next attempted to fire, probably three BB’s shot out…I never had a problem after that.

I’m sure many of you are familiar with how a Tokyo Marui magazine works. I’m not sure if the G-spec magazines are compatible, but from internet pictures, they seem to be different heights. There is a sliding piece that holds the BB’s in the magazine. When you insert it into the rifle, that slides aside automatically and the BB’s are properly loosed into the chamber. I most likely didn’t fully seat the magazine which allowed room for the BB’s to sneak around in there. That makes the malfunction no fault of the manufacturer, but rather, is shooter error.

I like this feature on the magazine because it makes it easy to unload it and relieve the pressure on the spring. Unfortunately, this also means that when you drop a loaded magazine from the rifle, expect two or three BB’s to drop free as well.

Pain (In)Tolerance

Finally, the moment, everyone worthlessly cares about, the rifles real feet per second. To save you time, I have no idea. I don’t own a chronometer and I’m not going to test it on Coke cans. However, I do recognize the one real test no one ever does and actually matters.

“How much does it hurt?”

And it’s closely followed cousin…

“Will someone feel it if I shoot them with it?”

The real answer is, “It’s only an airsoft BB, so no, it’s not going to end the world when you get hit with it.”

And

“I’d aim for bare skin and tight areas of clothing, such as the upper arms/legs, and back.”

I realize that’s pretty unsportsman-like for airsoft purposes, but you have to remember the world I am coming from. It hurts a lot less than a 7.62mm through your grape. If you’re utilizing airsoft for training purposes, it SHOULD hurt. That will train your mind to fight through the pain. Remember, just because you’re shot, doesn’t mean your dead.

When I take the youth group out airsofting we have a simple rule for FPS limits. You hand someone your gun, take ten paces away with your shirt pulled tight to your back, and they shoot you with it. If you want to shoot someone else with it, you’ll get shot with it. Sure, it’ll hurt, but you’ll be ok. I have yet to see airsoft penetrate the skin.

I’ll close with the video of my friend Amy (the Mother Teresa of the Encounter here in Duluth) taking the 100 foot test shot on my lower back. She aimed for the center, and struck three inches to the right.

~ by Travis on 15Apr2008.

7 Responses to “AGM type 96”

  1. Nice review, very professional. I’m glad to see you didn’t butter it up to deity status. A truthful review is a refreshing change of pace.

  2. Nice, great review no “best gun” or “never will shoot it again” sayings. I have the same gun but in green. I shoot .28g bb’s from airsoftgi.com and they work great. The gun beat my exspectations by a long shot. I’m no pro just a weekend worrior. I can hit a average size human at 60-70 yards (believe if you want to or not)with a red-dot sight( i like the wide angle view). The only thing I have yet to dislike about it is the magazines are hard to get out if you have gloves on and, I want to say 1 out of 100 shots or less a bb goes behind the reload chamber into the sleave for the pistion and stays there. there are two tapered holes 180 degres from each other (for a machine to bond or scew the two parts together (gripfor tool bit)) that the bb gets stuck in it. I put some hot glue in it and now the bb just comes out if you have the gun at 90degres to the horizine with the bolt all the way back. This is the only problem I have had sence I have had it (6 months) I should atleast 2000 bb’s per month, depending on weather conditions and summer or not for school reasons. If you want to use this as con’s for the gun feel free or if you have any tips or questions for me feel free to contact me at blaineairsoft@yahoo.com, I noticed you said duluth, I live in Blaine Mn in Anoka county. I have a league of about 30 people if you live near, besides that I liked the review and enjoye seeing another person with an AGM L96. I do need a semi fire pside arm to defend against AEG’s in my league any help would be great!

  3. In response to Nick E.’s comment:
    I don’t doubt you could make a shot at 200-230 feet. The group size I showed above was easily head-sized and was made at 100 feet.
    I agree about the difficulty of removing the magazine, although, in a sniper role, you shouldn’t be “speed reloading” with this rifle. Also, keep in mind that what is difficult to remove, isn’t likely to fall out accidentally either.
    I believe the problem you have with the BB rolling around occasionally is the same as the one I had. Because the magazine is pretty picky about being seated and removed, I think the most likely cause for this problem is improper seating of the magazine.
    I am familiar with MAA down in your region, but I haven’t had the privilege of playing with them. I am moving to NJ soon, so it isn’t likely to happen either.

  4. i wanna start by saying this was a nice review. I just got the gun a couple days ago and it surpassed what i expected. i only have a couple question and they’re “do you know where i can get another mag for this gun besides evike?” and the other one is. “do you think this mag will work http://airsoftarms.com/view_product.php?ProductID=7279&product_name=Tokyo+Marui%2C+30+Rds+Magazine+for+VSR-10 (thats the website)? pleas respond to fruityloops3@gmail.com

    thanks.

  5. Sorry, that magazine won’t fit. It’s too short. It’s the same design as the TM magazine but it’s longer to fit the Accuracy International style stock rather than the classic stock.

  6. hey i live in blaine and i was wondering if i could join some people who play airsoft ive been looking for quite a while now i’m 13 and i definately have a nice gun
    reply back on my email
    gio374@gmail.com

Leave a comment