Toolbox Concept

An issue that I find is proliferating the airsoft forums is the misconception that there is “the right way” just as there is “the wrong way”. Everyone wants to be an expert. The ones who actually are experts are not considered such because what they are saying is correct, but because of how they conduct themselves and perform.

I don’t care what unit your friends brother is in. I don’t what your Dad’s job in the Army is. I don’t care who you are. You shouldn’t care that I secured the US Embassy in Monrovia during their 2003 civil war or that I was a USMC Scout/Sniper Assistant Team Leader in Iraq. There are many ways to get the job done and saying there is only this way, or that way, is entirely arrogant. Arrogance, as we all know, is the height of folly.

What I propose to you is a new way of thinking. Actually, it’s not all that new, but it’s a nearly a righteous epiphany to those who hear it for the first time…and here it is…the gun you choose is not your weapon.

What do I mean?

A crescent wrench can be used to hammer a nail into the wall, if you need it to. Obviously, it’s not the perfect tool for the job, but it will get the job done. This is fine for someone who doesn’t need or want to take pride in what they do. However, if you want to do the job right, with style and class, you will choose the perfect tool for the job, and use it to the best of your ability, as it was designed. Whenever you learn a technique, you “file it in your toolbox”. It’s stays there, ready to be used when you need it. The Marine Corps Martial Arts Program has a slogan, “One Mind, Any Weapon”. This should be true of every warrior, even in airsoft. All tactics, all gear and weapons are merely tools that help you get the job done.

Simply put, you are the weapon. You can decide, react, and adapt. What equipment you  bring to the fight are merely tools. Your mind is the real weapon. This is why the slogan for Airsoft Commando is “Educate / Dominate” because the more you understand, the better you will perform.

Welcome to a new plateau of wisdom.

~ by Travis on 1Apr2008.

2 Responses to “Toolbox Concept”

  1. Very well said. It seems that there are way too many operators who are more concerned about looking cool than getting the job done. I have always advised my team, if it works for you and makes you a better operator, then that is tactical — even if it is something that involves using some duct tape.

  2. I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.

    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for excellent info I was looking for this info for my mission.

Leave a comment